help, my mother is feeling isolated and confused and i'm not sure how to help her

Special area for friends and family of transgender people to get or give advice and support.
palantier

help, my mother is feeling isolated and confused and i'm not sure how to help her

Postby palantier » Sun Jul 12, 2015 11:37 pm

okay this post may seem a bit weird but here goes recently I went through the stress of A-level exams and towards the end I found myself 'remembering' (seems like the best ay to describe it) feelings and wants that I tried to put away at 16, specifically that I want to be a girl and that I felt I would have been happier if I had been born a girl. I decided to ignore or put those feelings aside because I new (by the way I'm a chemistry and physics student with a bit of a hobby in biology and physiology) that current tech could not give me what I wanted yet. shortly before the end of my exams I realised that I could not keep this up, the constant jealousy and envy of other girls and subsequent depression and sadness, waking up in the mourning and feeling nothing because I wasn't a girl after dreaming almost constantly that in the night, it all got too much with my exams. so I decided to do something about it, I told my mother. she is shocked and upset, although not at me thankfully, and is feeling very isolated and confused as she feels she has no where to turn to. I am living at home with her and my little sister, whom still does not know, but I i'll most likely be off to uni soon in about 3 months.

fortunately I do not feel isolated in anyway as I have friends that I trust implicitly and whom I know would support me (2 already do, both I told at 16), I have everyone here and all the comments should I feel confused or anxious, which has already been a big help so thank you. :thumbup: